Educational Apps on the Fit Desk!
  • Child development refers to a child's ability to perform tasks of greater complexity as she/he gets older. The sequence at which a child develops is orderly and predictable, but different children develop at different rates. Child development involves language, social and motor skills. Physical development in children refers to the development of their motor skills, which involves using their bodies. Physical development is defined by a child's gross motor, fine motor and balance or coordination skills.

    The following PDF describes the physical and cognitive developmental milestones 0-17 years.

    Learn more about the Middle Childhood physical and cognitive developmental milestones and parent tips here: Middle Childhood Document.

    Helpful milestone check off list: Child Development Milestones ages 9-12.

Physical Milestonges

Middle Childhood 9-12 years old

  • Developmental Milestones 

    Emotional/Social Changes

    Children in this age group might:

    • Start to form stronger, more complex friendships and peer relationships. It becomes more emotionally important to have friends, especially of the same sex.
    • Experience more peer pressure.
    • Become more aware of his or her body as puberty approaches. Body image and eating problems sometimes start around this age.
    Thinking and Learning

    Children in this age group might:

    • Face more academic challenges at school.
    • Become more independent from the family.
    • Begin to see the point of view of others more clearly.
    • Have an increased attention span.

    Resource: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention   1600 Clifton Rd. Atlanta, GA 30333, USA