Department Overview

  • Our goal within the Brookings School District Child Nutrition Department is to provide high quality, nutritious meals to all students in our district.  Breakfast and lunch are offered each day in all schools.

    We are hiring!  The Child Nutrition Department has various full-time, part-time and substitute positions available.  Click below to inquire about any of our open positions:
      General Child Nutrition, full time
      General Child Nutrition, part time
      Substitute
      Assistant Manager

    Breakfast is offered before school each day until 9:30am.
    Lunch is offered with varying schedules for each location.

Lunch Line

Contact Us

  • Laura Duba
    Laura Swier

    Director of Child Nutrition
    605-696-4713
    Laura.Swier@k12.sd.us

    Brookings High School
    Erika Powell
    605-696-4178
    Erika.Powell@k12.sd.us

    Mickelson Middle School
    Dawn McCarthy
    605-696-4508
    Dawn.McCarthy@k12.sd.us

    Camelot Intermediate
    Rox Dahl
    605-696-4444
    Roxann.Dahl@k12.sd.us

    Hillcrest Elementary
    Ginger Bothe
    605-696-4610
    Ginger.Bothe@k12.sd.us

    Medary Elementary
    Jeanne Melmer
    605-696-4370
    Jeanne.Melmer@k12.sd.us

    Dakota Prairie Elementary
    Becky Hanson
    605-696-4908
    Becky.Hanson@k12.sd.us